Writing a prayer request

Posted on


 
Memorise: “For he satisfieth the longing soul, and filleth the hungry soul with goodness” (Ps107:9)

Read: 2 Kings 5:5-7

After the little maid in Naaman’s house had convinced everyone who cared to know that healing was awaiting her master in Israel, the king of Syria took it from there. He wrote the Israeli king that he must cure Naaman of his leprosy. The maid clearly told them where to go – to the national prophet – Elisha but they wrote to the king. This is some diversion.One reason many needs or desires are not met is because they are misplaced. Misplaced requests never get to their destination. In Genesis 30:1-2, Rachel was desperately in need of children. She had tried all she knew how to. One day, she grabbed her husband Jacob by the collar and told him: “It is either you give me children today or I die”. Once again a good request was misplaced. No man gives children because Psalm 127:3 says they are from God.

Asking your spouse for a child is a good but misplaced request. It is essential that requests be properly channelled to the appropriate quarters for action to be taken on them. Some wives or children make good but misplaced requests of their husbands and parents. You are asking the wrong person. Some wives nag their husbands over a particular need to the point that instead of being met, it stirs up anger as in the case of Rachel and Jacob.

“Be careful for nothing; but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God” (Phil 4:6). This scripture did not say you should channel some, but all your requests to God. It did not say take all these requests to your husband or father. Why? James 1:17 says every good thing comes from God, not your spouse.

Psalm 107:9 says, “For prayerequestshe satisfieth the longing soul, and filleth the hungry soul with goodness”. Although parents should provide for their households or they are worse than unbelievers, they must not be turned into your source. Your spouse is not your source. Your father is not your source: God is your source.

When you have a need, before you make it known to your parents or spouse, first tell your Source – the Lord Jesus Christ. He will decide how the need will be met. If you cultivate the habit of going to God concerning every need, it will save you time and bring your desired results.

Re-address your misdirected requests to the appropriate person – The El-Shaddai.

 

By Pastor Enich Adeboye

 

App for BB phones:       http://goo.gl/HJcXqF

App for Android phones/iOS:      http://goo.gl/bwCKv3

 

7 thoughts on “Writing a prayer request

    klaas jacob said:
    August 19, 2014 at 7:58 pm

    please pray for me iam realy sick tha people not paying me and trybto cheeting me>
    iam renting room and they are still paying i warned them i missing now 1300 dollar.
    pray that pay i have a problem.
    also an orgANISATION REJECTED TO HELP ME I HELPING EVERY ONE..
    IAM A GOOD SINGER BUT THERE ARE A LOT O STRUGGELS NOW. IAM AV MESSIANIC JEW.
    ON MOTHERSIDE. PRAY THATIAM FOUNDING FUNDS ARE CAN GET A LOAN TO SURVIVE.
    I ASKING YESHUA TO HELP ME WAITING ABSWER MY PRAERS. OTHERWISE THEY WILL STOP MY INTERNET CONNECTION.AND OTHER THINGS I HAVE ALREADY LOSS OF INCOME. THIS MUST STOP
    I LIVE IN THEV NETHERLANDS. ALL OF YOU CAN CALING ME 0031224799820. THAN I TELL YOU MORE DETAILS .
    OLSO ON MY GSM 0031617167595. PLEASE PRAY BFOR PROSPERITY. I HAVE ALSO PROBLEMS WITH MY HIP.
    I MUST BE OPERAITED AND OF OKTOBER. PRAY THAT GOD HEALING ME NOW WITHOUT OPERAITION.
    ALSO PRAY FOR MY COUSIN LUCIANO HE IS A JONG GUY PRAY FOR GOOD CONTACT. SHALOM KLAAS JACOB.

    Like

    Daisy said:
    August 20, 2014 at 1:13 am

    Amen

    Like

    Nkeonye said:
    August 20, 2014 at 2:19 pm

    Pls I jst nd a prayer request n tis dat God directs me on wat 2 pray abt. I ve so many issues bt dnt pay mch attention 2 dem n dnt knw wat 2 ask 4rm God. Am confusd, especially in terms of marriage partner, dnt knw if its his will 4 me 2 marry 1 of d men proposing marriage 2 me at d moment. Thank u. Dis is my No.;07061985264

    Like

    ALABI KAYODE SAMUEL said:
    October 5, 2014 at 8:23 am

    please sir.pray for me seriously.i have liver problem and many unname serious problem.my number:08037298685.kayode by name

    Like

    SAMUEL ALLEN N BUTHELEZI said:
    April 20, 2015 at 12:15 pm

    I request a prayer to leave holy life with my family. to payed up my house and Car to finish all instalment to give my children a better education to make a business to pay TENTH to get right money

    Like

    babalobi responded:
    April 11, 2017 at 3:36 pm

    Follow this link to join my WhatsApp prayer group: https://chat.whatsapp.com/H0NY69sF2Xk5al80J5vdDI

    Like

    Moira said:
    April 19, 2017 at 9:05 am

    I request prayer : everyday at work at home there is a very cold spirit / atmosphere that is following me everywhere. I am praying 27/7, it goes away for a moment the next thing it is there. I am always going for deliverance.

    Like

Leave a Reply

